For content creators looking to generate sustainable revenue, online ecommerce sales can be a big part of the plan - but achieving max sales results can be a real challenge as you navigate everything from split testing to bounce rate, website conversion funnels to analytics tools, to try and ensure an excellent user experience. This is where Conversion Rate Optimization (CRO) comes in. But what exactly is Conversion Rate Optimization, what is conversion, and how is it all implemented? Let's find out!
Conversion Rate Optimization is the process of increasing the percentage of visitors who take a desired action on your website, ecommerce store, or app. This process is achieved through testing various elements of your site or app to see what changes can be made to persuade more visitors to perform said actions, which are known as 'conversions.'
Conversions can include making a purchase, signing up for a mailing list, clicking through to your main website, or following your socials. These are all actions that help convert your users, moving them from being casual visitors towards purchasing products from you and/or becoming a loyal fan, follower, or customer, thereby increasing your conversion rate. The 3 main benefits of Conversion Rate Optimization are:
By boosting engagement, content creators increase the likelihood of visitors taking the desired actions that can lead to increased sales, higher views, and more loyal followers. Analyzing what your users do, don't do, and why can help you focus on better ways to get them to engage with your content and products. By understanding these habits and motivations, creators can use Conversion Rate Optimization to tailor their content, maximize engagement, increase website conversion, and keep fans and customers coming back for more.
In the online business world, the ultimate goal is to make sales. Content creators can use Conversion Rate Optimization to optimize their site or app in such a way that it highlights their monetization potential, thus increasing both conversion rate and the chances of making a sale or gaining a new fan. For example, adjusting calls to action (CTAs), product descriptions, pricing, or photography/mockups can make a significant difference in website conversion, purchases, and overall participation.
Building a community and engaging with your customers is essential. By implementing Conversion Rate Optimization, creators can find more effective ways of encouraging user-generated content such as reviews. These can then lead to increased engagement, boosting conversions and increasing sales or follows. Providing opportunities for your website visitors or ecommerce store shoppers to interact with each other can also lead to a sense of community, increasing the likelihood of returning customers and building your fan base.
A conversion rate is the percentage of website visitors who take the desired action, such as buying a product, filling out a form, or subscribing to a service. The benchmark for what constitutes a good conversion rate varies across different industries and websites. For example, the average conversion rate for ecommerce sites is said to be between 2.5% and 3%. Above a 3% rate can be considered a very good conversion rate amidst your fellow online ecommerce competitors.
If your website has a conversion rate that is lower than the average benchmark, there is always room for improvement. You can do research and implement optimization strategies that aim to enhance the user experience and boost conversions and engagement.
Several formulas and metrics are used in Conversion Rate Optimization to help analyze the effectiveness of a website or product page. Here are three key formulas and metrics you can work with to gather useful data for improving your conversion rate:
The conversion rate (CR) formula is the percentage of visitors who take the desired action. The formula is straightforward and is as follows:
CR = (Number of Conversions / Number of Visitors) x 100
For example, if your website receives 100 visitors, and 5 of them make a purchase, your conversion rate would be 5%.
Click-Through Rate (CTR) is used to measure how many people click on a specific link or call-to-action (CTA). The formula for CTR is:
CTR = (Number of Clicks / Number of Impressions) X 100
If your CTA is shown to 1,000 visitors, and it receives 40 clicks, your CTR would be 4%.
Cost per acquisition (CPA) is used to measure the cost of gaining one customer. The formula is:
CPA = Total Cost of Acquisition / Number of Conversions
For instance, if you spent $1,000 on advertising, and you gained 20 customers, the cost per acquisition would be $50.
Now that you've learned about Conversion Rate Optimization, let's look at where you can implement CRO strategies:
Homepages are the all-important headquarters for users. Creators can optimize homepages by creating a visually appealing, easy-to-navigate site, and placing CTAs strategically to encourage website visitor engagement. Showcase a strong and appealing brand voice that customers can easily recognize, and make your homepage a central place where your fans can find all of your relevant info, current projects, available ecommerce merch, and a place to connect with other website visitors.
Fourthwall lets you choose and customize your homepage theme to perfectly suit your brand and style; you can also add product collections and a wealth of other sections to your site seamlessly, to present a full picture of everything you have to offer your customers and fans!
Landing pages are the first page a user sees when they click on an advertisement or link, and are usually used for lead generation, which simply a means of creating consumer interest or inquiries into your content or product. Optimizing your landing pages by providing an attractive headline, clear and concise content, a compelling CTA, and links that make it easy for your customer to complete the desired action, whether it's a purchase from your ecommerce store or simply a follow. All of these optimizations can significantly increase your conversion rate.
Product pages are where your potential customers make purchasing decisions. By optimizing product pages with images, detailed descriptions, clear pricing information, and customer reviews, creators can offer an immersive shopping experience that, again, can really increase your conversion rate. You can further amp up your product pages by including high-resolution, interesting photos and even small video clips if that works for your product. Also make sure you're showcasing any popular or unique features that will help set your product or content apart.
Blogs are another excellent opportunity for creators to engage audiences and potential customers with interesting and compelling content. Optimize your blogs by creating engaging headlines, calls to action, clickable links, and a user-friendly layout to help increase conversions even more!
Fine-tuning your website for Conversion Rate Optimization is a multi-step process. Some practical steps that creators can take include:
Understanding which conversions are essential to your website, whether it's getting your users to follow your socials, subscribe to your newsletter, buy a membership to your homepage (like the ones available via Fourthwall), or purchase your products from your ecommerce store.
This will be different for every content creator, influencer, or business owner, as each will have different personal goals to target for their content and ecommerce sites. Knowing exactly what you're aiming at will help you to more clearly develop your optimization strategies, improve user experiences, and focus on the kind of conversions you want to encourage.
Analyze your website's conversion funnel. The conversion funnel is the process that takes potential customers from awareness of your content/product to considering it; then deciding to follow or purchase it; and then thinking about how they feel about their purchase (or about joining your channel/community) as they start becoming a fan of your brand or product.
This "funnel" can help you identify areas where you're seeing success, and other areas you can improve upon. Paying attention to bounce rate (the percentage of visitors who quickly navigate away from your content or store without interacting with it) can also help you narrow in on necessary improvements. By learning to understand these behaviors via your conversion funnel, you can optimize those areas and ramp up your conversion rates.
Creating clear, concise, and compelling CTAs is essential for persuading users to take action. CTAs should be placed strategically throughout your website and optimized for clarity and visibility.
Good CTAs include words that provoke enthusiasm or emotion; information that gives your audience a reason to act; and can include other components like impressive stats, strong verbs, bold positive declarations about what you have to offer, and a hint of FOMO (fear of missing out) to encourage users to join the rest of the crowd in enjoying your content or product!
With so many different online avenues available, it's essential to optimize your website and content for different devices, platforms, and socials. Sizing may seem minor, but making sure your videos and images fit into different browsers and screen resolutions can keep your content from getting cut off on the top or sides. The same applies to socials, as TikTok and Instagram, for instance, have different recommended post sizes and aspect ratios.
Once you've adjusted the technical side of things, also keep in mind the different vibe and tempo of each platform. An ecommerce site does well with multiple images and longer descriptions, but TikTok is far more fast-paced and requires clips that quickly capture your viewers' attention. Tailoring your content carefully can really help your Conversion Rate Optimization.
A/B testing, or "split testing," involves comparing two versions or components of a page to see what works best. By conducting A/B testing, creators can make data-driven decisions for optimizing their website or product page.
Your optimization goals here are to make your content/product easy to find; keep people on your page to minimize bounce rate; and drive sales, subscriptions, or follows. One simplified example of trying this on an ecommerce site would be by posting one set of photos of your product on a plain background and leaving that up for a predetermined amount of time; then swap the photos out for a second, more staged set of photos, leaving those up for the same amount of time, and then compare your traffic and sales results for each to see which is more effective.
Fourthwall's drag-and-drop website builder allows creators to design visually appealing, user-friendly websites and ecommerce stores full of features that help position them perfectly for great Conversion Rate Optimization. Fourthwall also provides creators with data and insights about your audience's behavior, allowing you to gather research, analyze it, and then optimize your website and ecommerce store effectively for an excellent user experience on both sides.
With Fourthwall's all-in-one solution, which includes memberships, Twitch gifting, integration of socials and other links, customer thank-you notes on video, promo codes support, and more, you can easily optimize your products, homepages, and blogs to create pages your fans and customers will be excited about, which helps increase that all-important Conversion Rate Optimization so you can grow!